This Chinese Temple is known as Tan Seng Ong KongsiThis is historically the oldest clan house in Penang. It had acquired its first common clan property at 13, China Street as early as 1810.
In circa 1831, the kongsi directors adopted the name of the main temple in Yunxiao to officially establish the Weihui Miao as a place of worship devoted to Chen Yuanguang, the Founder of Zhangzhou , and his two deputies, General Fushun and General Fusheng
Penang Chinese templeThe main idea to build the temple was for cultural integration. The present architectural structure of Eng Chuan Tong Tan Kongsi was completed in 1878, adopting common blood ties to demonstrate the internal cohesion of the Tan clansmen; and utilizing the rich public space of the buildings to showcase the cultural symbolism of clan unity.
In 1917, a Tan Si School was set up. It was later renamed as Eng Chuan School to educate Chinese children to become useful resources of the society. With a synthesis of clan culture and folk beliefs, contemporary Eng Chuan Tong Tan Kongsi is both a clan organization of social activities and an ancestral temple of remembrance and prayer. Together with residential houses on both sides, it forms a culturally embedded Seh Tan Court.